top of page

Zeta of the Year Award

In 2014 OTZ decided that we had to find a way to honor women that have done so much in our chapter. We created the Zeta of the Year award to acknowledge the contributions that members of the chapter have given to us in years of service and the caliber of spirit the have provided in the sorority and the chapter.  In these women the Light of Zeta burns bright and they have shown it will not be extinguished!

2017 Zeta of the Year

Patricia Belton-Bates

Soror Patricia Belton Bates has been a member of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. for over 40 years. She joined the organization at Morgan State University through the Gamma Chapter and she is a proud alumni of Morgan State.  She has been the President of the Omicron Theta Zeta Chapter in Fairfax County, VA for the last four years.  Soror Belton Bates has been an asset to our chapter and has led the Omicron Theta Zeta Chapter to new heights.  Under her leadership the chapter has expanded and improved our highly successful Scholarship Bal. This ball and other fundraising efforts enable us to continue to give scholarships to worthy High School young ladies.  She is committed to service and we have increased our Community Service efforts under her direction. 

2016 Zeta of the Year

Ryan Curry

Ryan Curry has been an exception and highly contributing member of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. She comes from Stafford, Virginia and is proud to be the daughter of two distinguished U.S. Navy military officers. Ryan graduated from Virginia Tech in 2011 with a Bachelor's of Arts in Political Science and a Minor in Leadership.  She honed her leadership skills as a member of the very rigorous Virginia Tech Corps of Cadets program which she completed upon graduation.

She joined Zeta through Omicron Theta Zeta chapter in 2012.  Since joining our chapter, Ryan has dedicated countless hours to the chapter through Chairing the Youth Committee and working with all the youth from 4 years old to 18.  She currently serves on the Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Eastern Regional Board as the Regional Webmistress and locally as well as the Public Relations Chair of the chapter. In addition, she has volunteered countless hours to the chapter in several other capacities by serving on the Community Service, Bylaws & SOP, Membership and Omicron Theta Zeta Scholarship Committees all for the love of Zeta! Ryan is currently working hard to become a certified teacher to help to continue to serve the youth population. 

2015 Zeta of the Year

Greta Williams


Our Zeta of the Year is Greta Williams. She hails from Montgomery, Alabama and came into Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated through Gamma Theta Chapter at the University of Alabama at Birmingham in November 1987.  Greta wears many hats in this chapter and sorority. She is the Co-Chair for the Archonette Youth Auxiliary and ensures that they have quality activities to engage in. She serves as the First Vice President and is the Membership Chair.

2014 Zeta of the Year

Carolyn Corbin


Omicron Theta Zeta Chapter’s Zeta of the Year is Soror Carolyn L. Corbin. Soror Corbin has been a dedicated member of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority for forty years. She has served as a past chapter president, first vice president  and presently serves as the chapter secretary treasurer.


bottom of page